Ramblings of a Digital Educator

February 7, 2008

Wow! Our new SmartBoard and Edubuntu!

Filed under: General Blogging — dtrask @ 10:29 pm

Recently I was able to purchase an interactive whiteboard called a “SmartBoard” for our school.  I have several more in the budget for next year, but this one gives us an opportunity to learn more about how to use one.  I was excited to find out when I ordered it that it would be compatible with Linux, but I had my doubts.  Often times manufacturers make claims to be compatible with Linux, but generally with a loss of features or a very difficult installation.  I was a little nervous when I stuck in the CD to the drive on my Edubuntu desktop….and I couldn’t get the installer to execute.  So…I went to the web site and downloaded the installer from there.  The installer was a breeze to work with!  It’s an autopackage that simply asked me a couple yes or no questions…and then VOILA!  That was it!  Suddenly the SmartBoard software launched and we were in business!  The total install time took less than 2 minutes!  Guess what else?  Everything works!  Every feature from the notebook software to the screen captures and more!  I’m truly impressed!  The folks at Smarttech have really taken a look at the future of Linux and FOSS in Education.  Today was simply my first day…all I got a chance to do was put it together, load the software and play around a little.  I’m finding myself a bit excited to get to school tomorrow so I can really try things out.  Just in the few chances I got to try it out today, I can really see how it will totally change the way I teach!  I’m psyched!

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

