Ramblings of a Digital Educator

October 8, 2006

Welcome to ROADE!

Filed under: General Blogging — dtrask @ 10:30 pm

Hi! This is my first post in ROADE (Ramblings of a Digital Educator). I decided to begin this blog not only with the hope of helping others, but also to help myself as well by getting my thoughts on electronic paper. My role as an educator is quite varied as is my computer network. Our school is heavily into using Linux thin-clients (K12LTSP and LTSP) as well as Mac OS X laptops and some Windows XP machines as well. My belief is “use what works” and “teach concepts…not applications”. With that in mind…I have set out to make sure that the kids at my school can sit down at any computer and within a few minutes…get right to work. I expose them to as much as I can. So…given that….this blog will not be just a Linux and FOSS blog, but rather a “technology in education blog”. Granted, my passion lies with the use of Free and Open Source Software (FOSS) and Linux….so you’ll learn about plenty of that, but my work also takes me into Mac OS X and Windows as well. Luckily, FOSS transcends these boundaries as free and open source software is available for all platforms. So…with that in mind…let’s get started!

DT

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

